Episode 2 :: Sunday Gravy

I’m back. Sorry for the delay.

So I decided that on this show we’re going to actually cook something. I figured why not – right? Let’s cook some food. I’m going to share my Grandmother’s recipe for sauce with meatballs. It’s not a recipe you haven’t seen before, probably. But it’s what we had every Sunday when I was growing up.

In addition, we take a trip to the local Farmer’s Market and buy fresh vegetables and farm fresh eggs. The vendors are extremely helpful, and we find some vegetables that we’ve not seen before. Find local Farmer’s Markets in your area here.

Take a look at this slideshow from our visit to the market.

I’ve grown tired with The Next Food Network Star, but I can’t stop watching. Listen to me rant, and give suggestions for alternative quality food programming that you may (or may not) already know is available. Top Chef is a far better show, and is everything Food Network should be adopting.

Download this PDF, which includes the ingredients, and directions for making Grandma Marsala’s Sunday Gravy with Meatballs.

Then, listen to Episode 2 here and join me in the kitchen. Let’s make some sauce.

Thanks for listening,

Phil

16 Comments

  1. Great stuff. No Farmer’s Market around here, but we have Whole Foods and it’s just as good. I’ll try your recipe this week. Sounds delicious.

    Was that Emeril at the beginning? Too funny.

  2. Can’t wait to try your sauce. Interesting slideshow.

  3. Love the slideshow. Thanks for the recipe for the meatballs, I’ll try those.

    RE: TNFNS – it seems to be a set up. Do you think? How did FN not know that JAG had lied about serving in Afghanistan? They didn’t do their research before having him on the show? Puh-Leees. And to send Amy away, then let her back in. She didn’t even seem at all disappointed to be going home. Rory and her gums, ha!

  4. Thanks for your comments, everyone.

    Yes, that was Emeril at the intro. The Food Network can be very entertaining. Even more entertaining when it’s cut up a bit and taken out of context. 😉

    Hope you enjoy the sauce. It’s hard to screw it up, just don’t over-season it. The meatballs are great leftovers. The egg/breadcrumb combination makes them light and fluffy.

    I have to admit, when the Food Network Star got down to the last 4, it got entertaining, because you could see what a train wreck it really was. The fact that they’re peppering their advertising space with requests for applicants for next year’s show makes it even more troubling.

    Thanks again for listening, and for your posts.

  5. Like the show. The Farmer’s Market was very cool, and your pictures are great. The problem with the food network is that you can’t make a star. This is the worst kind of reality television.

  6. Just found your show in iTunes. Very nice. I agree with your assesment of food network, but you have to admit Amy deserves to win it.

  7. There’s a better Farmer’s Market directory here http://www.ams.usda.gov/farmersmarkets/map.htm
    The one you listed is not very good.

  8. Amy is the next food TV star. Did you see how much weight Emeril put on? He’s massive.

  9. I know, he looked like shit. All fat and bloated, and he kept staring at the teleprompter. He likes to imitate Curly Joe of the 3 Stooges so much, he’s actually turning into him.

    It’s like he can’t speak unless he’s reading his lines. I’m sure the car company is really glad they had Emeril out there handing the keys to Amy, just burning down the written text they prepared for him.

    The only way he could have made it any worse last night is if he went into his whole “Bam!” routine, and started yelling non-sequiturs like “Take it away Doc Gibbs! Amy wins!”

  10. Oh, and thanks for checking back in. I appreciate your posts – all of them. Keep it going. 🙂 It makes me think you’re actually listening.

  11. Did you see Rory break down when she didn’t win? She didn’t want to face the camera and everyone had to console her. This was the worst show ever, a complete let down. I can’t believe they’re taking applications for next year. I’ll send mine in tomorrow.

  12. Great intro. I hate Emiril.

  13. Hey Phil,

    Just wanted to let you know Grandma Marsalas Meat and Gravy are simmering at the Hagerbaumer household. I know Mike Bond also cooked a batch today. You should be proud that you’ve been able to reach out touch some lives on this New Years Eve! Happy 2008!!! It smells wonderful – what a feast. I doubled the meatballs so I’m cooking 4 pounds of meat right now! 🙂 No wonder my wife doesn’t let me cook often. Cheers!

  14. […] Three years ago, Katrina and I discovered our local farmers market which had just opened. On our very first visit there, I brought along my iPod and recorded our experience, asking questions along the way. I asked where they were from, what they grew at their farm, how large the farms were, and how on earth they were able to sell enough produce to justify a 4-hour drive to and from Buena Park. […]

  15. I recently found your podcasts on iTunes. I listened to a few of the recents and liked them so much I downloaded the whole archive. Great job! This podcast is over 3 years old and is still so relevant: Food Network, Next Food Network Star, Gordon Ramsey…and of course recipes especially family ones are timeless.

    • Maria, you are so sweet. Thank you for taking the time to write that. It means a lot to me. I appreciate that you’re taking the time to listen.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

