Episode 3 :: The Maharaja

This time, it’s about West Coast India Pale Ale and white IPA Chicken Chili. We’re drinking two great IPAs and making a white chicken chili with the IPA as well. They go great together. Bring the heat!

I’m also introducing a new segment called “Food News.” We read an interesting story about a homebrewer who’s invented Pizza Beer, with mixed reactions. Also, Disney dumps their plan of marketing wine with the Ratatouille rat on it, which irritates me. Finally, a discussion about the current outbreak of botulism.

The two IPAs we’re having are The Maharaja Imperial Pale Ale from Avery Brewing in Boulder, Colorado, and Thunderhead IPA from Pyramid Breweries. They’re both fantastic, but the Maharaja is an absolute hop bomb – over 100 IBUs. Oh, and if you don’t know what an IBU is, or an IPA, don’t worry – I’ll explain it.

Download Episode 3 :: The Maharaja here.

Oh, and while you’re downloading stuff, I made a slideshow of the IPA Chicken Chile recipe. Download that too. And while you’re at it, download the actual recipe for the IPA Pale Chicken Chili here.

Music in this show courtesy of Brian Hikmers and Ibizarre.

11 Comments

  1. Sounds like Dude Night, less 2 Dudes. Maybe that’s why I liked it so much.

  2. Maybe next time, you guys should join me. We’ll call it Dude Night. Hey, that has a nice ring to it, doesn’t it?

  3. The rat wine story must have been a California thing because I never even heard about it. Oh well at least you have that great beer there. Didn’t see the movie either. Was it good?

  4. The botulsm story is nationwide, actually. Most of the cans affected were in the midwest. Enjoyed your show. Come to Texas and we’ll show you how to really BBQ. 😉 Enjoyed the slideshow too.

    Tex

  5. Phil, good show. Much different than the last one. I’m not into beer all that much, but it’s interesting to hear you speak so passionately about it and the chili recipe photos made me hungry. I did also hear about disney backing out of the wine promotion and I think it’s probably for the best. They shouldn’t really promote wine and childrens movies together. I’m sure that is not a popular statement, but it has it’s time and place. This is not it.

  6. Thanks for your posts today, everyone. I appreciate you tuning in. Seems the iTunes feed is working. 😀

    Ray – I’m sure it’s a bigger deal here than anywhere, and sorry if I made it sound inclusive.

    Tex – I well know that Texas is where BBQ is at (as well as Memphis and Northern Carolina). I, in no way shape or form, imply that I’m an expert. I just love to grill and BBQ as much as possible. Could be my Southern roots.

    And Bill – We all have our own opinion on it, I’m sure. I respect yours as much as you respect mine. It’s just sad to see. I figured maybe Disney could throw the adults a bone. God knows we’ve thrown enough $$$ their way.

    Cheers everyone, and thanks again for tuning in so quickly.

  7. The chili looks delicous. Can you make it without the beer I hope? Not a big beer drinker, although what you had sounds good.

  8. Thanks for checking in, Butter. Yes, you can certainly make it without the beer. Simply add a cup of water or chicken stock in its place. It won’t be IPA chicken chili, but it’ll still be damned good.

    Just out of curiosity, how did you locate our podcast? iTunes, feedburner, podcast pickle, google, or some other link? The show is still fairly new, so I was just wondering.

    Thanks again for your comments.

  9. BEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEER!

    Good job buddy! I cant wait to try out this chili. A suggestion for your slideshow since it’s a mov file (we may have discussed this before I forget) add some background music to it.

    I love when you go off on rants. It’s not like the mindless banter that most podcasts I listen to have. You have content to back up your reasoning.

    Thanks for the love!

    cheers!
    spoon

  10. The podcast awards are lame, so are the prizes.

  11. Last night’s Iron Chef America was a Farmers Market battle. I thought of your show when I saw that.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

