Episode 4 :: Pho 14

PhoIf there was anything good that came from the Vietnam War, it was the massive rush of immigrants that landed on US soil. What they brought with them was their culture, their spirit, and best of all their food. Pho – one my favorite things in the world to eat. It’s a warm hearty bowl of goodness. Noodles, meat, fresh vegetables in a rich bowl of broth.

In this episode, we visit a Pho House, order some Pho and take it back to the studio with us. We also cook some New Mexico rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Beans & Greens.

As for the drink – it’s Avery’s 14th Anniversary Ale, which goes well with the tenderloin, as well as a discussion on Paula Dean’s recent appearance on the Larry King show. I don’t know when Larry King jumped the shark, but he’s got the strangest taste in guests.

Download and listen to Episode 4.

Get the recipe for the New Mexico Pork Tenderloin with Beans & Greens.

Watch the slideshow from this episode.

Music from this episode by DJ Wamba and Faithless.

14 Comments

  1. Why do you hate Paula Dean so much? She’s a nice woman as you said. We did enjoy your commentary tho. I have never tried pho, or seen it near us. Tendons & Tripe I don’t think so.

  2. Funny show. Enjoyed the pictures too.

    Hey, so I caught your show on Farmers Markets and wondered what your thoughts were on this article. It seems to fly in the face of the argument on cost effectiveness doesn’t it?

  3. Thanks for your post Paul. I’ll reply shortly.

    Lamb, I don’t hate anyone – especially someone as sweet as Paula Dean. I almost cut that whole thing out because I realized how mean it came off. I just wish chefs with greater talent, who have more to bring to the table, would get that kind of press. Michael Ruhlman, Anthony Bourdain, Thomas Keller – they deserve that kind of face time. Not a woman with an annoying catch phrase, who cooks Beef-a-roni on her lame show. Yeah, I sound petty and jealous, and I’m OK with that.

    So Paul, I’m in love with Sam’s photography on her blog. That would make a foodie out of anyone. What a talent. I’ve been shooting photography for years and I would love to be able to shoot food that well.

    Regarding Farmer’s Market VS grocery stores, I live in California and the food we buy at our local Farmer’s Market is picked fresh the day before, is driven from the Bakersfield area (some 250 miles to the Market location), and is usually sold at the same prices as our grocery stores – in most cases cheaper.

    Considering the freshness of the items we’re buying, how incredibly good the things we buy there taste, and the fact that the people selling these items are actually grateful that I’m buying them (compared to the rude check stand clerks who couldn’t care less) – I’d say there’s no comparison. It’s Farmers Market, hands down.

    Thanks for your posts, and for listening. Did you catch me from iTunes or Feedburner? I’m always curious how people find my show.

    Cheers,

    Phil

  4. Great pho show, ya ho! Heh, heh. Did you pickup the pho at that place in Fullerton? Very nice people and a great bowl of love.

    Yeah, Paula Dean is nails on a chalkboard in my book. She is one of the many reasons I don’t turn that waste of a channel on anymore. I’d rather watch my dawg piss on the neighbors roses. Nice lady my ass. You can tell she’s one of those raging biatches off camera. “Make-up!!, you shot me from my bad side again, where’s the cookies?!, I’m not going to Paris again, they’re so rude and don’t like my assistant’s cooking”. Enough, don’t want to bind up anyone’s panties.

    Tenderloin, Mmmmm. Gotta make some of that on the next dude trip! Avery’s a good brewery and that Anniversary Ale is one fantastic offering. Great malt character with enough hops to keep it honest. Nice pairing. Fr. Spoon must have helped you on that one.

    Keep ’em coming.

    Cheers ya cLarKe!

    HD

  5. Paula Dean is a fat disgusting mess. I agree with the previous post that she’s probably not a nice person. None of these food celebrities are nice. They are all assholes.

    Don’t have fo where we live, but it looks good. I would not eat the messy other crap like tripe and stomach, but the noodles and vegetables look healthy and good. You said you made the soup broth before? Do you have a recipe for it?

    BB

  6. Japanese Ramen, Spaghetti, now Vietnamese pho soup. Somebody has a noodle fetish. 😉

  7. It’s a guy thing….

  8. 😀 Nice, dude. Well done.

  9. Good show. The pictures make the food look excellent. Downloaded your recipe and I’ll try it.

  10. Hog Dawg – that Pho place was here in La Mirada, just 3 miles from my house. It’s called Pho House, and they make a pretty damned good bowl. It used to be a sushi place. Very clean establishment and, as you can tell, very friendly.

    Butter’s Better – you can find a recipe for the Pho broth here. It’s important to take note of the bones. I know some restaurants use oxtail bones, but any beef bones with rich marrow will work fine.

    2 medium yellow onions (about 1 pound total)
    4-inch piece ginger (about 4 ounces)
    5-6 pounds beef soup bones (marrow and knuckle bones)
    5 star anise (40 star points total)
    6 whole cloves
    3-inch cinnamon stick
    1 pound piece of beef chuck, rump, brisket or cross rib roast, cut into 2-by-4-inch pieces (weight after trimming)
    1 1/2 tablespoons salt
    4 tablespoons fish sauce
    1 ounce (1-inch chunk) yellow rock sugar

    Fran – I love noodles. I said so in the first episode. Noodles are China’s gift to the world. 🙂

    and Andy – Thanks. I hope you enjoy the pork and beans (with greens). Did you see that there’s yet another spinach recall? Bagged spinach yet again. Just another reason to buy things as fresh as you can, as often as you can. And stay the hell away from canned stuff.

  11. Nice job on the grill. Not into Vietnamese food all that much, but the coffee report made me laugh. WTF

  12. Thanks!

  13. Phil! Your show motivated me to located a Pho restaurant in my where-abouts. I was going to go full bore on the tripe and tendon but opted to make the first visit a “baseline” event by sticking with the beef parts I recognized. They served it with the noodles, meat, onion, chives (or maybe scallions) already in the broth with bean sprouts, cilantro, some seriously wicked hot pepper slices and a couple of lime wedges on the side. If I was thinking I would have snapped a picture. I plopped in some various side stuff in there with a glob of that red hot sauce with the chicken on the bottle and BLAM: It was freaking awesome. I’ll probably head back next week try it with some tripe to bring it to the next level. Thanks for the heads up because I probably would have never have even thought to try this. Love the show.

    BuBBy

  14. I was introduced to the good world of Pho while going to school in Fullerton, going to Pho 99 off St College I think it was. Beautiful dish, certainly warming and comfortable. It was a sad realization that not all metropolitan areas have good Pho, as it was frustrating finding one in the Sacramento area…

    Great show Phil.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

