Episode 6 :: Food Hell

Food Hell

A recent trip to the midwest was enlightening to say the least. Surrounded by acres upon acres of farmland, what I ate was less than stellar. Welcome to Food Hell.

Back home now, and things are better.

Autumn is a perfect time for comfort food, and there are few things more comforting than Beer Braised Beef over Cheesy Polenta. What goes well with that? Well, beer. Specifically, Founder’s Breakfast Stout – courtesy of our good friend Groucho at The Beer Report. Never has the marriage of coffee and beer been more perfect.

A recent post I read in defense of PETA (a stance I’m growing more and more tired of) sets me off a bit, as does the fallout from a short documentary that covered the August floods that destroyed organic crops in Minnesota and Wisconsin. Watch this documentary by Gretta Wing Miller & Aarick Beher, read an insensitive rebuttal to the situation the farmers find themselves in, and donate to help the farmers, if you feel compelled.

Links:
Listen to Episode 6 :: Food Hell
Download a copy of the beef and polenta recipe
Watch the very brief slideshow from the episode

Music in this episode courtesy of Fatboy Slim.

8 Comments

  1. Great show once again Phil! Glad you liked the beer… Or should I say Loved it?

    Thanks for the tips on how to brown the meat without turning it gray… I always wondered how to do that! I LEARNED SOMETHING!!!

    Oh, and I am surrounded by Buffets!

    I had no idea what a palenta was before this show… Midwesterner showing through… Maybe you can be a little more descriptive?

    G

  2. I love your intros. First words “bull testicals”. HA HA

    Did you actually expect to find anything but fast food and national chains? Your in Nebraska and Kansas for godsake.

  3. The situation those farmers find themselves in is very sad. But I can’t help but think that they have some kind of insurance to cover that kind of catastrophe, at least a little right? It’s a risky business to be sure.

    I know you hate the food network, but speaking of Iron Chef America, here is an interesting interview with Alton Brown. http://www.seriouseats.com/required_eating/2007/09/alton-brown-talks-about-the-next-iron-chef.html. It begins this weekend. I cannot wait.

  4. Thanks for your comments!

    Michelle – I don’t hate the Food Network at all. I hope I didn’t give you that impression. I just don’t like about 80% of their programming, that’s all. I’m looking forward to seeing this new show. Thanks for the link.

    Leitch – I was seriously naive, thinking I was going to find something spectacular there. I consider the trip a learning experience. Sure is beautiful there, though. And the beef is fantastic.

    Groucho – try the recipe for the Polenta. You will love it. Put as much cheese as you want in there. The more you put in, the more the kids will love it. It’s total comfort food. Thanks again for the beer. It was bloody fantastic.

    Check out Groucho & CHUD at The Beer Report.

  5. Caught the Next Iron Chef on food network Sunday and didn’t care for it.

  6. PETA’s point of view deserves consideration. If you believe, as they do, that animals have the same moral status as human beings, then it follows that our society’s treatment of animals is directly analogous to slavery. We own them, we use them, we kill them for food and sport. Like most people, I reject PETA’s initial premise. Most animals don’t deserve nearly the same moral status as human beings. I agree that it’s wrong to torture a chicken for sport or mutilate it to pad a profit margin, but I see nothing wrong with raising chickens humanely and killing them for the table.

  7. Well stated, Lambda. And I think you may be too intelligent to be listening to this show. 😀

  8. Perogies are pretty good. You should try them. Just don’t have them with cheese.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

