Episode 7 :: Sausage Party

Today, we’re making Italian sausage. Making sausage can either be simple, or complicated. But it’s delicious regardless. Basically, it’s ground meat with seasonings and spices, allowed to marinate and cure, then cooked and enjoyed. Very simple. I’ll walk you through the steps of curing the meat, grinding it, preparing the hog casings for stuffing, then stuffing and tying your sausages together. Download the recipe for making your own sausages here.

King Corn is a documentary about two friends, one acre of corn, and the subsidized crop that drives our fast-food nation. In King Corn, Ian Cheney and Curt Ellis, best friends from college on the east coast, move to the heartland (basically where I spent a few days earlier this Fall in Food Hell) to learn where their food comes from. With the help of friendly neighbors, genetically modified seeds, nitrogen fertilizers, and powerful herbicides, they plant and grow a bumper crop of America’s most productive, most subsidized grain on one acre of Iowa soil. But when they try to follow their pile of corn into the food system, what they find raises troubling questions about how we eat — and how we farm.

There’s also a discussion on a recent episode of Bobby Flay’s “Boy Meets Grill” and a flippant remark about where Florida Stone Crab claws come from that I feel needs a bit more explanation.

I enjoy a great beer on this show, courtesy of Sickpuppy from the “Should I Drink That?” podcast – Brooklyn Brewing’s Local 1 Farmhouse Saison.

Download Episode 7 now. Also, there’s a slideshow on the sausage prep – check it out.

Music on this episode: “Ruff Bizzness” by Rivel

12 Comments

  1. Great episode Clarke!!! Welcome back!!! I think I’m actually going to go out and try to make some sausage….of course, given my recent history, I hope that didn’t come out wrong…

    Anyway….great episode, as always!

  2. Great episode Clarke!!! Welcome back!!! I think I’m actually going to go out and try to make some sausage….of course, given my recent history, I hope that didn’t come out wrong…

    Anyway….great episode, as always!

  3. Great show Phil. I loved the intro with Gordon Ramsey. Even though that guy is an arrogant ars blow hard, he can cook and puts out a great product. You don’t get Michelin stars putting out crap. Speaking from experience, those are some great sausages. You have got the recipe down my brother. Perfect pairing with that beer SIDT sent out.

    King Corn, don’t get me started on that subject. I have been saying for years now the bread basket of our great nation has turned into a processed food plant. High Fructose Corn Syrup is going to be the death of our country. We are the only nation that puts this additive in our food and look what it’s doing to us! Avoid it like the plague! That inedible corn is also getting into our food chain indirectly through it being fed to production livestock and now even fish hatcheries are using to in their feed. There is a great read on this subject and similar – The Omnivore’s Dilemma. It touches on this subject and others. Worth the read. I can’t wait for King Corn to come out. The trailers look great.

    Florida stone crabs, now that’s good eating. As you’ve said, “if it’s slower than me, dumber than me, and tastes decent.. pass the salt”. In this case, pass the drawn butter! What a perfect creature. Regenerates it’s claw when removed from the joint? Now if that’s not divine planning, I don’t know what is.

    Anyway, keep ‘em coming! Thanks for keeping me company on my drive in this morning.

    Don

  4. Very nice show. The whole corn story I find interesting and will look for that movie when it comes my way. We do get a lot of independent movies at a theater near the college here. As the other reader said, the trailer looks great.

    It sure seems like a lot of work to make sausages, so I will probably not do that but thans for the recipe anyway.

    Bill

  5. Thanks for the info on the sausages. I love hot Italian. You gave a good lesson, thanks.

    I’m so tired of Bobby Flay. I’d like to tear his claws off (just kidding).

  6. Great show Clarke, glad you loved the beer, wish I could get some of that! 🙂 If I ever hit the fucking lottery Im mowing down my shithole of a hometown and growing hops where the welfare rats used to be! Fuck that King Corn shit! I actually found a great eating plan (not a diet) and have lost weight and gained muscle just by following the eating tips in “the abs diet” book. It gives you 12 power foods and preaches to stay away from the bad fats, high fructose corn syrup, etc. Your body does not know what to do with that unatural shit and just stores it as fat. Not plugging the book but your conversation reminded me of it!

    Cheers!
    SP

  7. I had no idea about the videos you did since they weren’t on iTunes. I just realized they’re on this site. LOL. I don’t care much for beer, but it sounds like you really do.

    The next iron chef america was a good final. I did want Besh to win it, but Simon was the better chef in my opinion anyway.

    Fran

  8. Welcome back! Great show. I too like Gordan Ramsey. In England, Chefs endure horrible treatment. That’s just how it is.

    I read an interesting article not long ago about the increase in ethanol production. If increases in the use of corn for ethanol production occur, the harm to water quality would rise and water supply problems at the regional and local levels could also rise. So it can have a greater widespread affect.

  9. Great show Phil. I’ll look into getting some meat grinding equipment. I really like the idea of reducing the fat by adding some olive oil. Nice touch. The movie sounds like a must see. I’ve come to trust your movie recommendations. Is this a movie you’d venture out into public for? Keep ’em coming – you’re starting to make a convert over here.

  10. The documentary looks great. I’ll see it on DVD when it’s released. We don’t get to see too many documentaries in our theaters here. Unless it’s a Michael Moore film.

    It’s not just a problem in the US, though. In Australia everybody has ripped out what they are growing and planted grapes to get in on the Wine boom. Now they are overflowing in wine. Huge Glut. Also, their Oranges are rotting on the trees. Being feed to cows. While they are importing Oranges from overseas.

    Ray Ray

  11. Sausage Party! Great show.

  12. Thank you for your comments! Haven’t seen King Corn yet, but every review I’ve read makes me think it’s a no-brainer.

    Interesting facts about Australia and their wines, Ray. I had no idea that was going on there. I do appreciate their wine, though. 😀 So they can keep growing those grapes. Sad about the oranges, though. Our avocado growers here in California are having a fight of their own, which I’ll be focusing on this Winter when harvesting begins.

    Rick, thanks for your comments. Glad to hear you’re “converting”. 🙂 Even if you don’t want to put out the money for the grinder and stuffer equipment, you can always buy ground pork and just season it to make sausage patties. It’s a good intro way to make these sausages.

    Thanks again for tuning in.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

