Episode 11 :: Great Food Great Beer

Shrimp Cakes with Corn Salsa

Over the holidays, I received a gift from a friend that will be very useful to the show. It’s a beer-pairing cookbook from Anheuser Busch titled “Great Food, Great Beer”. You all know how I feel about Anheuser Busch, so I won’t comment on the beer part, but the recipes are fantastic.

So this week we’re preparing their Shrimp Cakes with Corn Relish, and pairing it with a beer far more worthy than Bud Light – Saison D’epeature from Brasserie De Blaugies in Dour, Belgium. It’s a Farmhouse Saison brewed by a husband-and-wife team who are schoolteachers, and in their part time brew beer in their garage and sell it throughout Belgium.

Also in this episode:
• One of Italy’s best known exports, mozzarella, is under threat from an infection spreading through herds of water buffalo.
• Interesting information about Mad Cow Disease, and how it was eradicated in UK and Japan in less than 2 years.
• Fat’s Grill and Bar and their 222 pound cheeseburger
• A recent study found incredibly high mercury levels in tuna being served in Manhattan sushi bars
• Oahu’s last dairy will be closing on February 15th, causing all the island’s residents to rely on imported milk.
• Beginning with the next episode, we’ll be joined by Shaun, a graduate student finishing his studies in Agriculture at a local university

Download Episode 11

Download the recipe for Shrimp Cakes with Corn Relish

Music in this episode by Dzihan & Kamien

14 Comments

  1. That’s a big honkin burger. And here I was was proud of this bad boy in central PA by my in-laws: dennysbeerbarrelpub.com

    I think if some of these people would have a fine craft beverage before sending you a message, your mail would be more positive.

    cheers!

  2. 222 pound hamburger. Jesus. THIS is why the country is obese.

  3. Lots of information here, but most of the mozzarella we buy in this country isn’t coming from Italy. It’s coming from US farms.

    Here’s a video that might make you sick. I don’t know how to post a link in here so I hope this works. http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2008/01/30/eveningnews/main3773183.shtml It’s undercover video showing abuse of sick cows. It was all over the news last night, so it’s on topic with what you were reading about Mad Cow Disease.

    Very good show, lots of information. I turn on iTunes and your show started downloading automatically.

  4. That video is nasty!!!!! It might be time to start thinking about giving up beef we’re buying in the grocery store. They feed cow parts to cows and chicken shit too.

    The dairy that closed in Oahu was the Pacific Dairy in Wai’anae Valley. I read that on Google.

    Good show.

    ray ray

  5. Good show, as much as you are pumping him up, I am interested to hear what Shaun has to say. I guess that is some of the geeky things I like to hear about food and I love in depth intelligent analysis thereof.

    The shrimp cakes are very nice, but I did do it a bit differently. I roasted the red paprika (bell peppers) and garlic before hand and just added them without the skin, chopped. I am not too crazy about the skin on paprika and think that the roasted flavour adds an earthiness that goes much better with the corn and avocado.

    One of the things that I love about Germany and Europe in General, is that, every piece of meat can be tracked back to the farm that produced it. The labels that accompany the meat in the butchers window has the age of the animal, farm location, butcher location, date of slaughter and sometimes the name of the ranch owner. The only bad part of German butchers, that I can fault, is that they do not age the beef. But I solve that by buying larger portions and aging it myself. Most of the butchers here will have there local farm that they buy the meat and poultry from and you can visit them at request. One that sticks out in my mind is an Angus ranch in the next village that has bulk sale schemes as well as portion sales. Germany is small enough that most produce, and the like, is local and farmers markets are the norm and not the exception.

    In closing, I thought of something else that is truly American. Pulled pork and recipes that start with:

    1 package french onion soup mix
    1 tsp lowry’s zesty season
    1 can Mushroom soup

    I think Americans are the only people in the world that publish recipes with ready made ingredients. I beat up in a forum once because I suggested replacing the can of soup with real mushrooms, shallot and a bit of cream to cut down on sodium and processed foods. I guess it is fighting words when someone takes your cans and packages of soup away.

    Take care, love the show, keep up the good work and all that other ego stroking shite.

  6. Kirk, that post was excellent. You’re spot on. Thank you, and keep up the rabble rousing in food forums. The further away we get from pre-processed foods, the better off we’ll all be. Americans should take note. The information on meat in markets in Germany is enlightening. Imagine how safe we’d all feel if we had that kind of information about the food we’re eating. I think the problem here is that most Americans just don’t care enough. We don’t want to know, and that’s sad.

    Tex, that video was exactly on point with what I was trying to say. Thank you for posting that. For as difficult as that is to watch, I think it’s important for us to know what’s going on with the food we’re putting into our bodies. And this goes back to what Kirk was talking about. In countries like Germany, you know exactly where your food comes from (and a lot more).

    The cows they’re slaughtering in those videos are going to give about the lowest grade of beef you could ever imagine eating. For starters, they’re sick (maybe even with BSE), and the trauma they’re going through before they’re slaughtered is pushing so much adrenaline through their bodies that it’s tainting the hell out of the meat. It doesn’t take much to ruin the quality of livestock – and they’re doing it all wrong.

    And Spoon, I’m not worried about negative comments. I expect them. I know I say some insensitive things sometimes, so I ask for it. I appreciate their points, but I’m still going to eat animals. I’ll just be more selective about it.

    Thanks again for all of your comments, everyone. I appreciate your support of the show.

  7. Great show. You drink beer I’ve never heard of. 🙂

  8. The Hot Dog eating contest held at Nathans in Coney Island on July 4th always makes me laugh and always brings back memories.

    Growing up my father would take the whole family on Sundays to Brighton Beach which is just down the boardwalk from Coney Island. We’d buy knishes at Hershes, hot dogs at Nathans and sometimes even go on the roller coaster, the Cyclone too.

    Seems like every year a skinny, young Japanese man easily wins the hot dog eating contest despite competing with lots of huge, football player sized men from around the world. Certainly an over the top piece of Americana. It’s a funny spectacle.

  9. Great show. Sad story about the Oahu dairy closing, though.

    I think I’d make a good case study for milk consumption. I’ve always drank tons of milk, for as long as I can remember (I’m 38 now). I’ve probably averaged about a litre/quart *PER DAY* (at least for the past 25 years). Wow – thinking about it… 365litres a year * 25-30 years – that’s a *lot* of milk 🙂

    So far, so good though (strep throat only once that I can remember, no memorable ear infections).

    I’d say my health has always been ‘above average’, and more recently ‘really good’ now that I’m trying to eat my “5 a day” (fruits and veggies), getting a little more sleep, and regular (moderate)
    exercise.

    I drank full-fat up until about age 18. I switched to 2% once I was on my own. I drank skim for a few years, and am currently drinking 1% now.

  10. Great show! Too short!

    You know… We have been thinking about getting a calf for the pasture… Course, then we have to deal with the whole slaughtering part! That takes out the fun!

    Looking forward to your farm reports.

    G

  11. First, I have to agree with Groucho, that the show was too short, but don’t listen to him, they rarely post shows lately. (Strategic “hehe” here but “F” that) Post more shows you poser!

    Sorry, the reason I have written is that Chef John Mitzovich posted a recipe about a truely American Recipe that was taught to settlers by the American Indians, and that was the Johnnycake, A recipe that was:

    2 slices of bacon, diced up, in a medium hot pan. Render it. Save the crisp bacon and the fat, once it’s done get it out of the pan and reserve it.
    Johnnycake Ingredients
    The batter, the mixture is very simple:

    * 1 cup cornmeal
    * 1 tsp salt
    * 1 tsp sugar

    Whisk in 1-1/2 cups of boiling water – that’s the entire recipe.

    Simple cakes and serve with maple syrup or butter.

    Love those Injuns,
    Kirk

  12. In case you were wondering, they closed that slaughterhouse down. USDA indefinitely suspended inspection, which effectively bars the supplier from slaughtering and producing meat.

    Here is a link to the article http://www.latimes.com/news/local/la-me-usda7feb07,0,401189.story

  13. Hey Phil, great show. There is a farmer raising cows in Nashville, Tn and selling the Milk. He has a booming business with the grass fed cows. He uses no steroids or enhancers to increase production. With rising energy cost and logistical issues as well as health, I think we will see the number of small businesses increase.
    I think I will try the shrimp cakes in a few weeks.
    Keep up the good work.
    P.S. Dick and I are going to a Podcamp in Nashville, Tn this Sat. I will fill ya in when we get back.

    Mike

  14. Thanks for your comments, everyone!

    Mike, that’s a great bit of information about the cattle farmer in Nashville. Thanks for that. I’ve just interviewed Shaun, the Ag student, and he’s got a lot to say on the subject. Turns out, the best tasting beef comes from grass fed cows that are finished on grain toward the end of their lives, and they usually like to get them ready for slaughter at around 14-18 months.

    Groucho, you don’t have to slaughter the cattle yourself. You can have them transported to a slaughterhouse. But that’s where it gets touchy. You have to hire a place you can trust, or your meat can be ruined. The guys over at Wooly Pigs ran into this issue a few months ago. They brokered a deal to provide some pigs for Thomas Keller’s French Laundry and had to have the pigs sent to a different slaughterhouse to have them killed, and they were afraid if the pigs underwent any kind of emotional stress beforehand, it would ruin the meat. The article Michelle posted about the slaughterhouse being closed down – I hope that gets around. If those animals endure any undue stress before being slaughtered, the adrenaline that shoots through the animal before it’s killed will fuck the whole thing up.

    Lambda, that is a great story about the hot dog eating contest. I’ve never been to anything like that. The idea of an eating competition just seems very odd and over the top to me. 🙂

    And Paul, that’s great that you’ve been able to enjoy milk for as long as you have. My wife still loves it and drinks it every day. My body can’t process it, so I can live without it.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

