Episode 13 :: Bambi With a Side of Fries

Yum! Venison with Pomme Frites.

I’ve never tasted venison before, so this is a first. And what a better way to have it than with a side order of pomme frites? Join me on my journey while I eat the most innocent of God’s lovely little creatures. I’ll even teach you the proper way to make the best French Fries you’ve ever tasted.

The New York Times recently ran an editorial by Jack Hedin, who’s a farmer in the midwest. He explains how the government actively prohibits small farmers from growing fruits and vegetables so we don’t waste valuable land where subsidized crops might grow. News? Not really, but an interesting read.

To go along with the tenderloin of venison, we have an incredible barley wine. It’s Insanity from Weyerbacher in Easton, PA and it comes courtesy of Sick Puppy at Should I Drink That? I can tell you now – I was floored.

The Germans think of everything. They’ve given us so much – the hot dog, the Autobahn, Kraftwerk, Hefeweizen, and the Porsche. Well, all of that was nothing. They’ve reached the heights of their inventiveness now. It’s a Cheeseburger in a can.

Officials in Tokyo are offering a worldwide “authenticity screen” for restaurants that claim to be Japanese. This may lead to something similar to the Michelin star system for any Japanese restaurant in the world.

Top Chef Season 4 begins next week, and the Food Network is an even bigger train wreck than we ever thought.

All of this and more in Episode 13. Download all 30 minutes of jam-packed fun here.

Music in this episode: “Antarktida” by Gluk.

14 Comments

  1. Clarke! I haven’t listened to the episode yet but I have seen the cheeseburger in a can on a post on Digg. Here’s a thread from some forum.
    http://forums.somethingawful.com/showthread.php?threadid=2757173&userid=0&perpage=40&pagenumber=1

    A page or two into it a German guy hunts one of those down and eats it while taking pictures. Kind of interesting. Makes me want to try one just for shits and giggles. I’d need a jar of Rolaids though for the heartburn that would follow. Anyway, thought I’d pass on that Cheeseburger in a can goodness. Looking forward to the new episode.

    Cheers!
    BuBBy

  2. Just what I was wanting to hear today! Wild game! Nice.

    You said Porsche wrong! Maybe Gonz could verify… But I was told the Germans pronounced it Porsh-uh.

    Food Network to Depeshe Mode Rant…. You cant script that!

    Great episode… I could listen to you blanch everyday… I can almost taste those fries and beer!

  3. Groucho, we did taste those fries in CA. 🙂 They were some of the best pomme frites I’ve ever had. Phil, I’m glad you teased yourself about not having venison before – it’s not that hard to get!!

    Now, have you had buffalo yet? A bar around here serves buffalo fajitas that are out of this world good. It did sound nice hearing the grease sizzling, it put me there in the moment with you.

    Thanks for the show. Never apologize for getting the message out about supporting local food. Can’t wait to hear what Shaun has for us next… I say that with a lot of trepidation.

  4. Thanks guys. Bubby, those pictures are OUTSTANDING. Thanks for passing that along. I guess the guy’s still alive so it couldn’t have been that bad.

    Groucho, I’m really bad with German names. Gonso had a field day with me on many occasions when he’d try to teach me new words. Thanks for your comments.

    Rick, I think I had buffalo once a long long time ago, but it was a buffalo burger and I don’t think I got a chance to really taste buffalo. The fajitas sound incredible. I imagine Colorado has many places that do a great job with that meat. Next time I’m up there, we’re hitting that bar. 😀

    Cheers guys. Thanks again for listening.

  5. Another great show man. If it were only easier to do, I’d send you venison – from a deer I hunted in the fall. Man, so freaking good!

    NAFTA… ugh – that screwed over Mexico and Canada, and wasn’t all that great for us here either.

    If you’re like me, you’re happy with that spring is almost here and soon it’s time for a whole lot of fresh fruits and veggies! We have several farmers markets here, and you’re so right on the price – so cheap buying direct, and oh-so-good.

    Have you been to these sites? They may be worth your look and promotion:
    http://farmersmarket.com/ – find a market near you
    http://caff.org/ – sustainable foods

    Finally, in NYC I found my first ever sausage shop, where they still make sausage by hand in ugly ugly fashion. I brought nearly 50 bucks worth of this stuff home with me, it was so good. Never seen anything like it before in my life.

    That’s all, thanks for another great show, entertaining and informative.

  6. Phil, I have had venison many ways. There are good ways, and there are bad ways. It all depends on the cut of the deer you’re eating. The loin was a good first choice. It’s very tender. The picture does it justice.

    I continue to enjoy your show, and I find myself looking forward to hearing more from Shaun. It sounds like there’s something special in store.

  7. The Germans have the best ideas. Are you crazy? Did you forget about David Hasslehoff? The pictures of that guy eating that hamburger he boiled on his stovetop make my stomach turn.

    Where did you find venison? Did you shoot it? Now that would make a good podcast. 🙂

    RayRay

  8. Wow, you suck. I mean suck worse than The Beer Report. OK, maybe not THAT bad 🙂 Naw I was diggin this one. A couple of comments in this, my comment.

    1) I don’t care what people say about Robert Irvine, like Phil quoted me, he is a great guy. I waited over an hour in line just to get 2 minutes with him. He said to me and Lushie “Do you 2 cook together?” we said yes. he said “do it more often. not only will you guys have fun but it’ll bring you closer together.” Lushie and I love cooking together. We make it a point to work on our own things and bring them together. Robert also pulled some culinary students aside and said “I don’t care how big you get, never forget where you came from. Soup Kitchens can always use your help”.

    2) Food network pisses me off. I was geeked when I found out that there would be a weekly BBQ show on but those fucking Neely’s need axed. That wife Gina is more annoying than New York from Flavor Flav’s show. I’m sure they can cook but they’re not for TV. If it wasn’t for Flay I wouldn’t be watching.

    3) We don’t eat deer. You can say “but you like how I make it” until you turn blue. sickpuppy says that a lot. Truth is, we won’t. I like liver but Lushie would kick you in the nuts.

    4) the background sound you have is friggin stellar Phil. You’re getting a hang of this podcasting thing. You should have your own show… err wait.

    cheers buddy! Glad you like the beer!

  9. Venison, mmmm. Now you’re onto something. I’ve been hunting since I was 12. Texas is the best state in the US for deer. pbrick is correct it is so freaking good.

    My wife is still especially fond of Paula Dean, so Food Network stays in our house until they stop showing her. I know you don’t like her. Hey yaaaaalllll.

  10. Great show Phil, I have not had a good piece of Bambi in a long time. I have some friends that deer hunt and they make stews, spaghetti, and hamburgers with the venison. Try to find some deer sausage. You won’t be disappointed. I will try the fry method, I love fries. Alton Brown did a show recently on fries. He said the name french fry came from the cut of the potato. Alton is one of the few I will watch on the Food Network. He is a little quirky but I like the science behind the food.
    On the Mexican farmer, I guess we will be writing them checks soon so they don’t have to grow anything like our farmers here in the US.

    Prost my friend,

    Mike

  11. Yes, let’s feel bad for the Mexican farmers while we’re at it. NAFTA is wrong!!! While leftist critics of Nafta are wailing about evil Mexico avoiding those wonderful statist and welfarist U.S. “labor” and “environmental” regulations, the real problem is that these measures will be enforced by government commissions, commissions which have acquired sovereignty over Americans, Canadians, and Mexicans, thereby injuring the consumers and the economies of all three nations.

    Enjoyed your show. I have not had venison myself, since it’s not readily available where I live.

  12. The new season of Top Chef doesn’t appear to be all too exciting, does it? I saw the line-up of constestants and they look very vanilla.

  13. Cheeseburger in a can? Botchulsim anyone? I think the same company who made this stuff. http://www.gizmag.com/the-canned-cheeseburger–fast-food-in-the-wilderness/8713/picture/41855/

  14. My dad hunted when I was a kid and we always had venison on our freezer. My mom prepared it many ways, but my favorite was always the roast. If you ever want to try it again, here’s the recipe.

    3 lb Chunk of venison roast
    2 cup Red Onion sliced
    3 cup Red Potato sliced
    1 cup Celery sliced
    1 cup Carrots sliced
    1 cup Fresh mushrooms sliced
    2 Tbsp Liquid smoke
    1/2 cup red wine
    3 Tbsp Worcestershire Sauce
    3 Tbsp Soy Sauce
    1/2 cup Beef broth

    In a large baking pan, add the venison. Add all
    liquids, then vegetables around the meat. Put the mushrooms on top of
    everything else, then the spices on top of them. You should have about
    1 inch of liquid in the bottom of the pan. If not, add a little water or more red wine. Seal bag. Bake at 300-325 for 3-1/2 hours. Don’t cut the
    vegetables too small or they may overcook.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

