Episode 14 :: The Real Green Acres

Shaun visits with us again to continue our discussion of life on a farm, and gives us his thoughts on organic farming, the affects of immigration, and more.  He even goes in-depth in describing what palpation is and how it’s done.  This episode is definitely NSFL (Not Safe For Lunch).  You’ve been warned.


Before Shaun visits, I wanted to share a few things with you.  The show is gaining a firm listener-base, and one of our shows has reached the 700th download plateau, with another rapidly catching up to it.  In addition, we’re enjoying a solid number of regular listeners.

Rick from Big Foamy Head has shared a beer with us, which I’m happy to  enjoy on the show. It’s “Collaboration not Litigation Ale”  – a blended Strong Belgian Ale from Avery Brewing and Russian River Brewing. The two breweries have brewed a beer that they’ve both named ‘Salvation’, so instead of battling over who got to keep the name, they decided to mix the beers and share it with the world.  It’s an incredibly complex Strong Belgian with deep fruit flavors and a massive body.  Thanks again, Rick!

Chris Cosentino, the executive chef at Incanto, was preparing some of the courses for a recent “Head to Tail” Dinner. They shot some video of Chris preparing the meal, and I’m sharing some of the audio from that with you. Chris has a cookbook ready to be published but needs representation.  Could someone please discover this man and help us make him famous?  He’s a very innovative chef, and he tells it like it is.
 
Listen to Episode 14 now.

11 Comments

  1. […] Phil wrote a fantastic post today on “Episode 14 :: The Real Green Acres”Here’s ONLY a quick extractRick from Big Foamy Head has shared a beer with us, which I’m happy to enjoy on the show. It’s “Collaboration not Litigation Ale” – a blended Strong Belgian Ale from Avery Brewing and Russian River Brewing. The two breweries have brewed … […]

  2. Man, I’m really glad you liked the beer Phil. I had a feeling you would. I think the blend is exceptional. Of course, so are the base beers.

    Yeesh, glad you gave us a little warning about eating during the show. I think I prefer knowing my food comes from sanitary looking styrofoam containers with cling-wrap on it. 😉

    The semen gathering was something else… wonder how many guys have tried that electric probe on themselves. Tell Shaun thanks for sharing the info.

    Congrats on the success of the show! You deserve success. I was reading through a lot of the comments posted on other shows. You seem to have a fairly intelligent following.

  3. Maybe a bit more information than I needed on cow artificial insemination, but an interesting conversation overall. 🙂

  4. How much did this kid drink before he came on your show? He sounded like he’d had quite a few drinks.

    It’s the farmer’s perogative, but forced insemination (artificial or not) is not the right thing to do IMHO. I believe humans shouldn’t interfere with an animal’s life. Think of forced controlled insemination on human beings and see why I think it sucks.

    Fran

  5. Nice fan mail. There are some weird people listening (present company excluded).

  6. Seems to be a big risk when cross-breeding cows. I recall a story some time ago about a Cuban farmer who ended up breeding dwarf cows that were only three feet tall. The best part about it was that he continued breeding them because they were small enough to fit on small farms, and you could have room for more of them and get milk from all of the cows. I think they got something like 5 liters a day from these cows.

  7. Cool show. Glad to hear more from Shaun.

  8. Sorry I didn’t heed your warning. Never saw that coming. Informative to say the least.

    ray ray

  9. I don’t get the whole head to tail thing. I’ve been told on many different occasions that no matter how revolting the thought of eating innards is at first, it can grow on you and become an acquired taste. My question is, why. Why would you unless you had to?

  10. i am gonna show this to my friend, guy

  11. Thanks for your comments, everyone. For the record:

    • Shaun was not drunk. I didn’t feed him beer until after the show. I did see him last weekend though, and he was pretty hungover.

    • Rick the beer was the absolute best. I loved it. Thanks again for that. It made the show for me.

    • Dick Pepper alerted me that my stats of 700 downloads on the sausage episode might be a bit misleading, because of bots, etc. So I had to re-run the numbers accordingly. I did that, and the updated number was . . . . um . . . four.

    • To Death Vegans – that’s a really odd story, but I love it. Was that true? The thought of it sounds bit frightening, but it certainly sounds like it works out for the farmers, space wise.

    • To everyone else who’s emailed and commented about the show being too ‘descriptive’ – I warned you. I don’t know how I could have been any more straightforward than I was. 🙂

    Cheers, and thanks for listening. Episode 15 is in the works right now. Check back later this week.

    Phil


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

