Quack-a-dillas with grilled corn and black bean relish

So Bobby Flay is coming out with a new cookbook, and a new show called “Grill It!” as well. He’s invited anyone who grills to upload a short video showing your signature dish. If he likes it, he’ll fly you out to New York and you’ll cook the dish together on an episode of “Grill It!”

I figured “Why not?” so I prepared my duck quesadillas with a grilled corn and black bean relish. Excuse the rough chopping and one-handed cooking. I had to be host, director, and cameraman on this day.

You can see my video, along with all of the other contestants on the Food Network web site.

7 Comments

  1. Phil,

    you rule, and you emphasize the importance of being smart instead of cool. That took a lot of guts. I wish you all the luck of being picked, you deserve it!

    Take care,
    Kirk

    PS. Germany may be the land of beer, but the Rheinheitsgebot, and beer culture does limit what is available. When you want a first persons perspective from German Beers, feel free to ask. I know some beers that are famously flawed, (by tradition, i mean(.

  2. Dude,

    That looks great. Good luck with the video. If you need a squire, I can clear my schedule!!!

    Later bro,

    Jezzzmo

  3. Kirk, that was an incredibly nice thing to read today. Thank you for your kind words. And I would LOVE to hear your first-person perspective on German beer. I know they’re not all tremendous (there are many I’m not fond of myself) but the strict guidelines they still abide by today needs to be respected and followed. The lack of any set number of guidelines in American brewing has watered down our product (in more ways than one).

    Tell me all you feel like sharing! I’d love to hear it.

  4. That’s an awesome clip, Phil. I’m going to try out your recipe this summer, though I might do it with canned corn and beans. I’m a 30 minute kind of cook! Good luck with the Bobby Flay show!

  5. Hi des

    Thanks for your comments. I hope you like the dish, and thank you for taking the time to watch the clip and wish me luck. I really appreciate that.

    Nothing wrong with 30 minute cooks!!! As long as you’re cooking, that’s all that matters. Most of all, have fun.

    I love your blog – very nice photography.

    Cheers, and thanks again.

    Phil

  6. Good luck. You got my vote. Thank Bubby and JH.

  7. Thanks Mr. Whiskey! I appreciate your support. I was overwhelmed with the outlaying of support I received from all of my friends at the Beer Safari. If I manage to make it on the show, I’m going to owe it all to my friends. 🙂

    Thanks again!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

