Episode 22 :: Chocolate

Chocolate Souffle

I’ll admit I’m no chocoholic, but I do like it from time to time. However, it’s not all about me – not always anyway. When it’s about her, it’s about chocolate. And it’s about time that we tackle an approachable dessert that you can make anytime, easily and with very little effort. So we’re making Chocolate Souffles on the show, and drinking the perfect compliment to it – Stone Brewing’s 12th Anniversary Bitter Chocolate Oatmeal Stout. That’s a lot of chocolate, but too much of a good thing is a very good thing, right?

In this episode:
• My Life as a Foodie banned in communist China (Ooops! What’s this?)
• Personal changes on the horizon
• WiiWare’s Beer Pong is wrong
• Is the potato the answer to world hunger?
• Fan Mailbag
• France facing snail and oyster shortages
• Aguacate y Mescal, the next big cocktail

Listen to the show now and download the Chocolate Souffle recipe here.

Music in this episode by The Crystal Method. Like it? Buy it in the iTunes store.

10 Comments

  1. I cant believe you ate snails from the backyard. Well wait, yeah I can.

    good show Phil!

  2. Great show Phil! I’m amazed you’re on China’s radar as a bad influence to the Peoples Republic. Mao Tse Tung is rolling over in his grave!! Bad capitalist pig dog. 🙂

    The dessert looks great. Like you, I don’t go out of my way for sweets. Fry it and put salt on it, and I’m there.

    Good luck on your move – I know you’ll be happier closer to the coast… Hell, who wouldn’t be? There’s a reason CA is sooooo populous.

  3. ‘Me no rickey!” That had me rolling. What was that from anyway? And what sense does it make to ban your podcast in China, where almost no one speaks English? Anyway, good show, great picture, great recipe too. I can grill, but my wife does the baking.

  4. Nice touch with the Marvin Gaye music. 🙂 You make it sound easy, but I will give it a chance, but when it’s cooler out. The oven in the Summer is a bad idea around here.

    The eating snails bit was really interesting. Your mom sounds cool. Do you still eat garden snails? Can’t say it’s high on my list of things to eat.

    Regarding China, you hear the same thing from people who live there now. It’s that most Chinese are happy with the transformation of their society, and I have to wonder how true that is.

    The HAPPY ones appreciate that now, one’s chances of being murdered on
    any particular day is about one in eight. Under Chairman Mao, it was
    1 in 3. The HAPPY ones are the ones that are still alive … and they’re still
    the duped and benighted SLAVES of the forever-in-china!

    That’s what constitutes happiness in China. Sorry they’ve banned your show.

  5. I also enjoyed when Marvin Gaye kicked in. Looks like JeffreyT is going to have to find some Cream of Tarter and dark rum. Chocolate is sex, period. Looking forward to the Stone’s 12th. Sometimes it does stay around. You can still buy 7th Anniversary at studio A. Have fun on your move.

    JeffreyT

  6. Hey Phil, sorry to hear your show and site are being banned in China. Friggin COMMIES! There’s a web site you can use that uses a proxy server to determine if your site is banned or not. Go to http://www.websitepulse.com/help/testtools.china-test.html and check it out. I just ran your blog and it came up timed out, but other web sites I tried (like Google, MSN) came up fine. What gives?

    Anyways, great show, and I’ll try to make that chocolate thing. My girlfriend loves chocolate.

    Ronnie

  7. Thanks for the comments, guys. Ronnie, that web site is awesome, thanks! I just ran some beer safari sites and other web sites that I thought might come up, but they’re all OK. Both my blog and web site (http://www.zeroface.info) are timing out, which I assume means that it’s blocked. What a great tool.

    JeffreyT, thanks as always. I hope you enjoy the souffle, it’s rockin’. Wheeler, I don’t eat garden snails anymore – I only did that with my Mom when I was young. The idea of eating insects isn’t all that appealing now that I’m older, but I do have escargot whenever it’s offered to me (which is rare anymore).

    Bill, the “me no rikey” sample is from the straight-to-DVD Onion movie. It’s a funny clip, albeit slightly offensive, but it seemed to work for the subject matter. 🙂 And Rick and Spoon, thanks for your comments as always. Looking forward to radical changes in my life – we need changes. Change is good.

    Thanks again, everyone.

  8. Maybe they banned you because you’re so positive about Japanese food. A lot of Chinese people have a deep dislike of all things Japanese. 🙂 J/k (sortof), I think your theory is more on track.

    I’m looking forward to hearing how you take advantage of all the new Asian markets in your new neighborhood. cheers

  9. Oh actually, the real reason your site is blocked is probably because it’s on the wordpress domain. All wordpress.com blogs are blocked, and many other blogging sites are censored too. China likes to keep tight wraps on what kind of information is being shared on the net, english language blogs are difficult to control so they just block them all.

    Host your site yourself and you won’t have this problem!

  10. Thalia, you are such a buzz kill. 😉 Here all this time I figured there were WANTED posters all over Shanghai with my silly mug all over them. So I would have to actually install WORDPRESS on my web site? Blech! Maybe I’ll just deal with the ban for now. At least I can feel like a rebel.

    Thank you for your posts, and for linking the show from your web site. I’m going to add your page to my links page to reciprocate. You have a LOT of resources for foodies on there – it’s perfect.

    Cheers and thanks again!

    Phil


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

