Episode 23 :: Orchard White Clams

The move into the new house is complete and it’s time to get back to business.  With Summer on the way out, there’s no better way to see it off than with one of the most impressive Belgian Witbeirs I’ve ever tasted, Orchard White from The Bruery right here in Orange County — Placentia, California.  And to make things even better, we’re steaming a big pot of clams in the beer in the classic French manner.  It’s the perfect pairing, and a good way to get things back on track.


Also in this episode:

• Michael Phelps and his 12,000 calorie-a-day diet
• Bourdain’s show may be jumping the shark
• The Edible School Yard
Veritas Farms
• Taco Trucks (aka “The Roach Coach”)
• A salute to Groucho & CHUD
• Self-Milking Cows
Alinea The Cookbook

Download Episode 23 here.

Music in this episode: “Here to Stay” by New Order.  Download it in the iTunes Store.

17 Comments

  1. Phil, love the show. I think the worst commercial is the Rosetta Stone one with Phelps. He’s pimping that he got it to learn Chinese before the Olympics but yet he NEVER SPEAKS IT in the commercial.

    I may have to feast n clams if you make it. I can’t stand most seafood but you make it seem enjoyable. I used the beer that sickpuppy made also. The taste was bad but it was EXCELLENT for putting in a crockpot all day to cook homemade kielbasa.

    I used to love school lunches. I blame them for the ripped up stomach I have right now, not all the alcohol I’ve drank 🙂

  2. Great episode, Phil! I’m going to have to make up a batch of clams very soon. I’m working on putting together my food pairing / recipe section of the website– mind if I include this recipe?

    Cheers,
    Patrick

  3. Phil… Great show… looks like great minds think a like…

    http://jesstyler.wordpress.com/2008/09/05/steamed-mussels/

  4. Patrick, thanks for your quick comments! I would be honored to help with some recipes/pairings for you. I guess I should have included the printed recipe with the podcast. Here it is for anyone who wants to try it:

    Orchard White Clams

    2 pounds of steamer clams
    1 stick of butter (unsalted)
    1/2 cup green onions, chopped
    3 cloves garlic, chopped
    12 ounces Orchard White
    2 tablespoons fresh parsley, chopped
    Salt & Pepper to taste
    Fresh bread (for dipping)

    Scrub the clams under running cold water and set them aside. In a dutch oven or large pot, melt one whole stick of butter, then saute 1/2 cup chopped scallions and 2 to 3 chopped garlic cloves until the scallions are tender but not taking on any color. Add a little salt and pepper, then throw the clams in the pot. Pour 12 ounces of Orchard White over the clams, then close the lid.

    Bring the pot to a boil and boil for 5 minutes or until the shells are opened. Shake the pot every 30 seconds or so to stir everything around so nothing burns to the bottom of the pot. Once all of your clams are all opened, stir in 2 tablespoons of fresh chopped parsley and pour the clams and the broth in soup bowls. Serve with a goblet of Orchard White and fresh bread — or better yet, grilled fresh bread rubbed with garlic.

    —–

    And thanks, Spoon. I didn’t see the Rosetta Stone commercial but now I’ll have to look for it. If you buy fresh seafood, you will be turned on forever. There’s nothing like it. You promise to try it, and I’ll send you a bottle of Patrick’s wit to have with it. You will not be sorry. 😉

  5. Hey Scott – that looks fantastic!!! Very complex dish too. I’d imagine that was a bit of heaven. Two whole bottles of Ruination – woo! I’d be licking the bowl.

    Excellent job, foodie!!

  6. yeah… it was the small bottles but still awesome…

  7. Dude! I absolutely love this show, and am so happy you’re all moved and getting settled in. Glad to hear some good stuff from The Bruery, Patrick’s beers are simply amazing.

  8. Hah! An hour show! Loaded with stuff – you must of worked your butt off!

    Oh crap. Yum Brands Fast food feed bags – “it’s hot steamy food in your face right now” – “I got the chipotle chicken loco cabeza” – “sometimes I don’t feel like moving my arms ah so this way you can have it on your face close to your mouth so you don’t have to pick any thing up.” – “does away with the hassle of chewing or stopping to breath while eating”. This totally killed me.

    My next favorite line is “It makes my taco hot” from 16 year old Shawn Johnson. That’ll be a really cool line when she turns 18!!

    Cool shout out to Dick – I agree. BTW, you knocked that video promo out of the park.

    Cool that the brewer Patrick Rue posted on your site! Patrick, I want some of your beers please.

    I agree with your comments about states being responsible for school lunch – but then again the constitution does actually enumerate the powers of the federal government. People seem to forget that.

    For those of you that missed the Kid Rock outro – go back and listen again. It’s freaking classic!!!!

    You brought the ingredients to life once again. One of the best parts of the show.

  9. Rick & Rick — thanks for your comments. It’s great to know that you guys are always there for feedback. Glad you enjoyed the show!

    Patrick, Rachel and Tyler are awesome, as I said. They deserve all of our support, and I think it’s good if we can help them out. If you can’t get their beers where you are, let me know and I’ll ship some out to you. I haven’t had his Saison yet, but I’ll pick up a few bottles when I hit High Times in the next week or so and send them to you for review. People really need to know that there’s another genius American/Belgian brewery on the horizon – from Orange County, no less.

  10. Great show Phil! Welcome back, and congratulations on your new home! You certainly do sound happy in it and it will be exciting to hear new things from all of the new restaurants in your area. This show was packed with material and it sounds like you worked very hard on it. Over an hour long too, which is odd for you.

    Good to hear your show back. The beer sounds great, as to the clams. It’s hard for me to find really fresh clams where I am, but I’ll be on the lookout. I’d really like to try that beer. You made it sound so good!

  11. I would love to try that beer. Their web site is very nice and the blog is a great idea for him. Patrick you sound like a really nice guy making great beer!! When I’m in California again on business I will look for it.

    The Michael Phelps diet made me a little ill to be honest. Does he really eat that much? That’s more than what weight lifters eat on a daily basis. And what’s with the fried things? He’s an athlete. Athletes don’t eat fried food do they???

    Enjoyed this episode, and my congrats on the new house as well. I’m not sure where you were living before but it sounds like you are happy wherever you are.

  12. Funny show. The Onion promo, the self-milking cows (I was sure was a joke), and your take on Bourdain’s show. All great. I’m hit and miss with seafood, but you always make it sound so good. I have no idea what the “sea” smells like but I know what bad fish smells like and I know I don’t like that.

    Welcome back! Keep em coming.

    Dan

  13. Hey Phil! Another entertaining show! I will have to disagree with you on the “cooking with bad beer” comment. This particular beer just had a bad yeast taste to it. I gave a few to Spoon as stated above and it turned out great.
    Also, the Bullshit segment as a foodie you may have missed the point as I think you are looking at it with a foodie point of view and i look at it as proof that most people can be manipulated with the right push and atmosphere. It was more a human behavior segment than anything else in my eyes.

    CHEERS!
    -SP

  14. Thanks Sick. I just wish they’d chosen a different subject matter, that’s all. At a time when we’re trying to encourage people to get in tune with their food, having a segment that shows what the power of suggestion can do, it negates the work we’re doing. It almost came off as a slap in the face to true foodies, which these people were not. If they’d done this at a beer tasting event, pitting macro swill against microbrews, I think you may have had a similar reaction.

    Dan, Paul, and Raymond – thanks again for your comments, as always. Dan, the sea smells like salt water mixed with green grass – best way I can describe it. Paul and Raymond, The Bruery is exclusively Southern California at the present time, but I’m sure distribution to other areas will follow. It’s all ours at the moment, and you’re missing out on something great! 🙂

  15. This was my first time listening to your podcast … love it! Gonna have to have the hubby download it for me so I can listen to it on the way to work … Keep up the good work!

  16. Wow… Great show! It had everything! Even praise for TBR??? Too nice… Thanks!

    The best part about this show… It told me how to go about cooking muscles. I have to admit that living in the Midwest (Land of the Betty Crocker CB) has left me at a loss on how to do this. Good tips! Nice tips on the bread as well!

    Is it really as easy as rubbing raw garlic on the toasted bread??? If so… I am stealing that!

    G

  17. Thanks Groucho & Jess! Appreciate that you took the time to listen.

    I know doing any show involving fresh seafood is a bit difficult for those in the Midwest, but I’m sure they’re made available. You can always use frozen if you can get them fresh frozen and dated on the package. New Zealand mussels are fantastic, and I can only get them frozen here.

    And yes, Groucho – rubbing raw or roasted garlic on bread is all I do to make grilled croutons. I like to butter the bread then put it on the grill, then rub the garlic on the bread just before serving. Delicious!

    Jess, nice blog. I love reading about new foodies and their passion for all things food.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

