Episode 27 :: A Foodie Halloween

I promised you a haunting episode, and here it is – A Foodie Halloween. Today, we’re drinking my favorite IPA of all time – Russian River Brewing’s Pliny The Elder.  We’re also making the freshest tasting and easiest to make dish ever: Blood of Dracula Soup (cold beet soup).  It’s a dish so easy, even a dead man can make it.  There’s a discussion of Community Supported Agriculture programs, and I share my experiences of living with a real (friendly) ghost.

But the main event, what you’re all tuning in for, is the Horror Movie Quote game.  I play 21 quotes from multiple horror movies and you guess the names of the movies.  Email your answers to zerofaceproject (at) yahoo.com.  Be the first to get all 21 correct, and you will win a bottle of Autumn Maple from The Bruery, the perfect Fall beer made with yams and love.  Contest ends November 6th.  If no one has answered all 21 correctly by then, I will declare the first person to send me the most answers correct the winner.  Check the comments section of this episode for details and updates.

UPDATE 11/7: The contest is officially over. Congratulations to listener Jessica, who got 19 of 21 correct. Enjoy the bottle of Autumn Maple, Jessica!

Download A Foodie Halloween here.

To see pictures from this episode, check out the Zeroface photo blog.

Music Credits:
Draining Faces by Skinny Puppy
Epilogue by Skinny Puppy
Movie 13 by Doubting Thomas
F862 by Doubting Thomas
Stuck In The Mud by Rob Zombie
To the House by Rob Zombie
Munsters Theme by Los Straitjackets
Halloween (she gets so mean) by Rob Zombie
Suck Pump by Bile

Additional music from Agony Before Death’s forthcoming album “Rain Check Policy” (a zeroface project)

And just for fun, The Exorcist in 30 seconds.

Thanks for continued support of My Life as a Foodie, and for your votes in the podcast awards at podcastawards.com

Happy Halloween!

11 Comments

  1. […] Phil wrote an interesting post today onEpisode 27 :: A Foodie HalloweenHere’s a quick excerptStuck In The Mud by Rob Zombie To the House by Rob Zombie Munsters Theme by Los Straitjackets Halloween (she gets so mean) by Rob Zombie Suck Pump by Bile. Additional music from Agony Before Death’s forthcoming album “Rain Check Policy” … […]

  2. Sent you my guesses Phil. I’m not very good at remembering movie quotes, but I did recognize quite a few of those. Really fun show and it really set the mood for Halloween.

    I am carving pumpkins for my kids out of balsa wood. I am taking balsa wood and turning it to the rough shape of a pumpkin and the taking it off of the lathe and carving into a pumpkin with a face on it. I am using it as a way for my kids to have fun with their pumpkins and a way for me to practice carving faces. They will also be reusable next year.

  3. Odd thing about Ghosts, and the discussion about whether they’re real or not. It is your imagination in what you do and don’t allow to see. Sometimes your imagination can scare the daylights out of you. But then you have to realize that it is your imagination and not reality. Even though it seems too real. Learning how to control and deal with your imagination is the tough one.

  4. Hey phil, check my answers. I think I did pretty decent.

    Great story. Sounds to me that she wanted to hang around with you guys and continue to live there, even after her body had left. I’ve heard a lot of stories like this and some sound stranger than others.

    One night, many years ago at a restaurant in Seattle, my brother-in-law was closing the place alone, late at night. He was counting money when he heard a noise in the kitchen. He went to inspect it, and there was water all over the floor. He knew he had just checked it and it was fine then. So he mopped up and went back to counting money. He heard the noise again, went back in– same thing: water all over the floor. So he mopped up again, and went back to doing the other closing tasks.

    Finally, he heard the noise again and went into the kitchen. The dishwasher was equipped with pre-rinse hoses, which have a handle that needs to be squeezed before water will come out. One of the hoses rose into the air and squirted my brother.

  5. Thanks for tuning into the show, everybody. And thanks for all of the entries for the Horror Movie Quote game. So far, no one has guessed all 21 correctly, but there have been numerous near-misses. I will keep the contest open until all 21 are submitted correctly, or November 6th, when I will announce the winner.

    Paul, I’ve heard stories of that nature before, and they were some of the most unnerving of them all. When we went on that haunted tour of Fullerton that night, one of the first places they mentioned was a restaurant right next to where we were standing, and some of the same types of things happened. Things flew off the shelves and it was really horrifying. I’d have said “F this! Some one else close this place.”

    Ronnie, that is an interesting prospect of carving your pumpkin out of wood. I suck at wood carving, but I can carve a pumpkin. You sound like you’ve got your chops down pretty good. I wonder what kind of damage you could do to an actual pumpkin on a lathe. 😀

  6. Nice pumpkin! The soup looks good too.

    From what I have learned over the years, there are at least two kinds of people when it comes to seeing ghosts.

    The first kind of person (I am one of these) don’t ‘see’ ghosts as a rule, but they are much more sensitive to atmospheres and aware of ‘prescences’, often to an alarming and disturbing degree.

    The second kind do see ghosts, but are not so sensitive to their prescence or pervasive ‘atmospheres’. Many don’t even realise what they have seen, and (although it seems odd) don’t tend to want to know about ghosts or even deny their existance (to quote one good friend “I can’t believe in ghosts – they don’t exist! But I’ve seen one…” which sounded odd, but I understand what he meant.)

    Anyway, cool story.

  7. I have a new favorite IPA; Stonebrew. I also like the Ruination, but would not recommend chugging a pounder. Video is up! You can see the debauchary for yourself. And, you aren’t the only one that thinks me and SP are soul mates. He likes to call us a match made in hell.

    Keep up the great work!

    B-

  8. A chick won?! I hope she likes craft beer… 😉 Congrats Jessica.

    Are you going to post the list of quotes? I’d like to know what I missed.

  9. Congrats to Jessica for winning the Horror Movie Quote game. And thanks to all of you for playing along. Here are the answers to the game. Seems almost everyone thought #2 was “Frankenstein” when it was indeed “Bride of Frankenstein.”

    1. Silence of The Lambs
    2. Bride of Frankenstein
    3. The Shining
    4. The Exorcist
    5. Psycho
    6. Halloween
    7. Poltergeist
    8. House of 1000 Corpses
    9. The Blair Witch Project
    10. Bride of Frankenstein
    11. Psycho
    12. American Werewolf in London
    13. King Kong
    14. Halloween
    15. Silence of The Lambs
    16. Poltergeist
    17. The Blair Witch Project
    18. The Shining
    19. The Exorcist
    20. House of 1000 Corpses
    21. The Beer Witch Project

  10. DAMMIT!

  11. Hi there my good friend! I have to point out that this article is remarkable, awesome authored and can include about almost all major infos. I will observe more posts in this way .


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

