Episode 29 :: A Winter Warmer

A Winter Warmer

As the end of the year draws near, I wanted to not only thank everyone who’s listened and supported the show this year, but to ask all of you to think about those who have fallen on harder times than those of us who are still floating in this unstable economy. The surplus at your local food bank is more than likely running lower than normal, so if you can, visit feedingamerica.org to locate the bank nearest you and make a donation to help those who desperately need our help. As we approach Christmas, we should be reminded that gifts and presents are a mere luxury, but food is a necessity and it would be short sighted of this show to ever forget that.

Listen now

In this episode:
• Trader Joe’s 2008 Vintage Ale from Unibroue
• Pumpkin Creme Brulee
• Chinese restaurants earn their Michelin stars
• The documentary Food, Inc. gets a distributor
• Top Chef Season 5 recap
• Beer Safari Christmas Exchange Video (coming soon)
• Burger King’s Whopper Virgins
• PETA’s synthetic meat challenge

Listen to episode 29 here.

Music in this episode from Leftfield and Babble

Keep in touch with future material from My Life as a Foodie by subscribing to the blog’s RSS feed.

8 Comments

  1. Great show Phil… Im still amazed at damn PETA now manufacturing proteins… seriously… just disgusting… I dont watch top chef but I think Im going to need to start… Jess and I both than you for the shout out and hope you enjoy your gifts my friend… Cheers!!

  2. Now I know that scrotum is tough and needs to be cooked more! I’m really impressed with the number of audio samples you bring to each show – and the quality of the samples. Really nice music too. I’ll try to remember the food banks this season – I know people that have had to turn to them during the holidays when there are more mouths to feed but not any more money to do so. I’m looking forward to your WI tastings. New Glarus is a really great brewery. This is another show that’s worth more then one listen through! An early Merry Christmas Phil & Family (yes, the cat too!!)

  3. happy holiday Phil and thanks for all of your hard work in 08 to put out a top notch show.

    As for Top Chef, Carla looks like she would be the winner of most likely to go apeshit and kill a small community with her hands. That chick is freakin spaced out. I have to admit, i have a thing for Leah. mmmmm.

    Cheers buddy and have a great holiday break!

    -spoon

  4. Merry Christmas Phil. Thank you for your great shows this year. It has been a real breath of fresh air learning things about food and issues that I knew little about before hearing you speak about them. The pumpkin dish looks great and I will try them soon.

    Happy Holidays!

  5. Hey Phil, really enjoyed your shows this year. Looking forward to the video project too. The Trader Joes we have here is quite a drive from where we live and they don’t serve alcoholic beverages there, but the beer you had sure sounds nice.

    PETA and their synthetic meat contest sounds very gross. I’ll be surprised if it’s ever approved by the FDA. There should be a law against this.

    Merry Xmas!

    Bill

  6. Thanks for your comments, guys. I appreciate it, as always.

    The whole PETA thing is a mystery to me – not that we don’t understand what they’re doing, but WHY they’re doing it. I’d just as soon see them put their money behind tastier vegetarian-based fake meat alternatives. The only reason I brought it up is because we all know the end product is going to end up in the stomachs of children who need whole foods that are real and not grown in a petri dish.

    Rick, thanks for your compliments on the audio. I know it’s only a matter of time before CNN catches wind and sends a cease and desist, but I do honor them for continuing to run great stories that I’m afraid a lot of people miss. I’m glad they’re taking these issues seriously and bringing light to them.

  7. I have something to say about your mention of the Michelin Guide in China. It’s a joke. That story is a joke.

    I have no expectations for the Michelin guide whatsoever. How would any place like the small local restaurants mentioned in your story even make it in the guide? The lack of decor, rude service, and unsightly location would automatically disqualify them.

    This is where I find Zagat’s to be the best alternative. A restaurant could theoretically have a rating of 30 for food but 10 for decor. People would go for the food and have low expectations for the other aspects.

    Just my 2 cents.

    – Drew

  8. Ha Ha… Thanks for defending us and our taste buds. For the record… I still have never had another Maudite!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

