episode 54 :: truth or dare

Considering the many new flavors and bites I’ve opened myself up to recently, I had to stop and think of how many things in my life I may have missed by simply forming preconceived opinions on them. How cheated have I been all of my life? More to the point, how cheated have you been?

In this episode, I explore the notion of accepting every single challenge that’s brought upon us – either by a friend, or by yourself. How challenging are you? Will you be able to say, at the end of your life as a foodie, that you have tasted all of the foods you have ever pondered? It never has to be a dare, but without some form of a challenge – whether by a friend, or by your own will – you may never discover the truth behind the food that surrounds us each and every day.

Bobby Bognar, host of The History Channel’s Food Tech, visits the show to answer listener questions, and proves (among other things) that he’s never one to back down from a challenge. If you needed a new reason to like this guy, he provides plenty. What a great interview he is.


Listen to episode 54

In this episode:
• Why does Superbowl Sunday have to be such a downgraded food day?
• “Mischief” from The Bruery
• Recapping the Durian Challenge, and why we all need to explore food
• Bourdain schooled by a 10 year old – WTF?
• Bobby Bognar from Food Tech visits
• Top Chef Masters Season 2 debuts April 7th on Bravo. Go Chef Ludo!
• The McItaly Burger – Goodbye, Slow Food!

Music in this episode from Nickelback. Download the song from the iTunes Store – or better yet, from their web site.

Join the Food Tech Facebook Group, and tell The History Channel why they need to return Food Tech for a second season. Death threats are absolutely unacceptable – so don’t go there, people (you know who you are – Frank & Jeff).

Share this Post

18 Comments

  1. Great episode! Interesting pick in intro/outro music. What prompted you to use that song? It was fun popping your durian cherry. True, get past the smell and you’ve got it licked. The flavor is very unique. There is another fruit here in Brazil and other tropical regions name Jaca fruit. It is in the same family as durian but the fruit has an almost oyster like consistency. Taste is kinda like sweet and very ripe bananas. I wouldn’t call it adventure eating, but regional eating has always been a passion of mine and will never turn down a good street cart or “locals only” corner restaurant. I’ve had some of the best meals in my life in a place that I needed help translating the menu. The last thing you want to see on the outside of a restaurant when you’re traveling in a foreign country is “English Spoken Here”.

    You and your heat challenges. I remember the one time you ate a habaneiro off the vine at my place and we thought we needed to take you to the ER. I need to try and dig up that foto of you hovering over the kitchen sink. Still laugh about that one… You can handle the heat though. I’m a wimp when it comes to the real hot stuff.

    It infuriates me to think about “premiums” put on eating healthy. Here in Brazil it is still cheaper to eat at home and buy your food at farmer’s markets or feiras. There you’ll find everything for wholesome, healthy meals, spices, meats, everything. Chicken and beef does taste different here. A lot more flavor and not as much “marbling” in the meet. But, I did get caught in a traffic jam two days ago and for what? There was a line out to the street for a McDonalds. It was a sad day in Sampa land. But the difference about Micky D’s in Brazil there is a premium on the food. Burger, fries and a drink (yes, they serve beer) is about $10. so most people pass. You can get a real nice healthy meal at a corner cafe here for around $5. That will come with a protein, rice/starch, salad and veggies. Add an 18 oz. beer to go with it for around $1.50. Now that’s a deal tough to pass up.

    Great having Bobby back on the show. He is real entertaining and a wealth of knowledge. I just subscribed to Food Tech. No History channel here so iTunes will have to do. I think I have his travel day from hell beat though. Sao Paulo to Dalas to Santa Ana (24 hr. layover), then LAX to Hong Kong to Jakarta. I gave up on trying to figure out what day it was after one crossing of the date line and two equator crossings within 36 hours. Looking forward to season 2 of Food Tech.

    • Dude, if it weren’t for you, I’d probably not even think about half of this stuff. It was that constant need to go further, to push the boundaries – impress your buddies. That’s what drove me first, but now I just love it.

      And Katrina loves to talk about that incident over your sink. That was the most uncomfortable I have ever been. But I’d do it again tomorrow. What a rush.

      Thanks for being an inspiration.

  2. Thanks for answering my questions, Bobby! I did not think you guys would do that much traveling on your show, so it was mind numbing to find out that you actually do one show at a time, and travel to the same locations multiple times.

    Loved the second interview even better than the first. I will be emailing The History Channel and let them know how much we’re enjoying Food Tech.

    Ray

    • Thanks, Ray! We need all the support we can get!

    • Thanks for supporting the show, Ray. And thanks for your show participation.

    • You’re the best, Ray…my pleasure…please keep on watching! Hopefully we’ll get to do another season (or 5)

  3. Simply put, it’s just been too long!

    • Thanks for your support, Bob. I’m a couple of shows behind The Baub Show myself. I desperately need to catch up. I waited in your chat room on a Monday night a couple of weeks ago, but had to bail before the show started. Missed out entirely that time! 😦

  4. Loved the Bobby interview (both of them). What I like about the show is that he doesn’t take himself too seriously and that he is willing to try anything (reference to his comment about his “runner’s shape” and cutting up the fish – lol). I am really surprised he had to back track to similar locations in taping each episode. I imagine if they re-up the show there may be a different planning schedule – or maybe one show at a time gives some cohesion to each show. I get the same vibe from Food Tech as I do from Dirty Jobs – good info, interesting concept, self deprecating humor, great locations and fun camera work (looks like the crew and him really get along). Thanks for the follow up interview. The whole show was fun to listen to – esp the girl giving Bourdain a hard time.

    • Thanks Jeff, and thanks for supporting Food Tech.

      The idea of traveling back and forth and back and forth is an exhausting thought to me too, but I can see why History wants Bobby and his crew to submit complete shows. I think you’re right – in the 2nd season, they’ll allow them to compartmentalize scenes and make it easier on them to do more shows with less travel.

      The Bourdain segment with that little girl – man. At first I thought she was cute, but then she got too snarky, even for Tony. Ruhlman handled her, though.

    • Jeff,

      Thanks for the compliments…Mike Rowe (Dirty Jobs) is the gold standard in this business, and any comparisons are wonderful.

      Please keep watching!

  5. Love love love The Bruery and their zany stuff. I’m on a sour kick, so they satisfy that craving. Just got them in at my local Crown Liquors. Picked up 2 Turtle Doves (Belgian-style Dark Strong Ale with cocoa nibs, pecan, caramel malts-yum!) and have been lusting after red wine barrel-aged Oude Tart, which only YOU, Phil, can get because it was released in Jan. at the brewery! Sometimes I envy you Californians so much!

    • Jennifer, thanks for submitting your question for Bobby. Turns out, it provided the most interesting answer! Who knew doing a food show could be that dangerous? Bobby’s a brave man in many ways.

      Glad you like the Bruery beers too! 2 Turtle Doves is a malt bomb, and a sweetheart of a beer. It’ll warm you up (if you’re still cold). I don’t know if they’re bottling Oude Tart, but if they do, and I see a bottle, would you like me to pick one up and send you one?

      Don’t envy us in California. Come out and see us! We’ll treat you right. 😀

  6. Phil, your show continues to entertain and teach. Bobby has such a great sense of humor, I could easily see you two doing a podcast together. I love Food Tech and started watching it after hearing Bobby on your show the first time.

    I don’t care what you say though. Durian sucks. You can have it. And I’m not interested in eating pig feet cheese either. I credit you for going out there, but not for me thank you.

    The Bourdain clips were funny as heck.

    • Thanks for your comments, Andy. Bobby does have a great sense of humor. Not sure I could keep up with him as a co-host, but I appreciate the compliments. He’s on his game 24/7, that’s certain.

      I know it’s not for everyone, but Durian was not that bad — at least not to me. And it’s never a bad thing to try new stuff.

    • For sure I am way funnier than Phil. But he is way better looking, and you can be sure that I would trade in a heartbeat.

      Bobby

  7. wow thta was very cool of yinz to ask/answer my questions. I love watching bobby’s show and look forward to it appearing on my DVR. You two have some good chemistry, you should do something with that. Either of yinz make it to Pittsburgh let me know, i’ll buy ya some beers

    • The only thing I like better than a beer is a beer that you buy me.

      I was in Pittsuburgh a couple years ago (to see my beloved Miami Dolphins lose in the worst Monday night game in history)…would love to go back!

      Rock on,
      Bobby


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

