dude food :: episode 3 :: chicken wings

When you think of chicken wings, there’s no doubt that Hooters comes to mind. Their founder once said that Hooters is to chicken wings what McDonald’s is to the hamburger. But sometimes you simply want them in the comfort of your own home. Today, we’re making chicken wings that not only rival those found at Hooters — but possibly better.

Start with 1-2 pounds of chicken wings. Cut them up according to my directions in the video, and season with salt and pepper. Then prepare the “fry station” as follows:

Primer Flour
1/2 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper

Egg Wash
1/2 cup milk
1 egg, beaten

Finishing Flour
1 cup flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

Fry in canola oil (or vegetable oil) at 375 degrees for 8-10 minutes or until golden brown. Coat with wing sauce, and allow to rest for 3-5 minutes.  Enjoy on their own, or with blue cheese, ranch dressing (that’s for you, Baub) and celery sticks.

Wing Sauce
1/4 cup melted butter
1/4 cup Louisiana hot sauce (Red Rooster, Crystal, Frank’s Red Hot, Tobasco, or your favorite sauce).

16 Comments

  1. Thanks for posting this, even though I’m not a dude. This was great because I’ve always wanted to learn how to make wings.

    • You certainly don’t have to be a dude to enjoy Dude Food. It’s meant for everyone! Thanks for taking the time to watch it, and for commenting. Your blog is very interesting. I love the videos!

  2. Wow, another awesome episode. Lately all the wings I’ve done have been on the grill and they have been seriously lacking. It’s been about 25 years since I fried up some wings. I am going to have to get back on that horse and ride. Back in the day, we’d blend Frank’s and Crystal and put in a spoon or two of Tabasco. We’d pop the freshly fried wings in a bowl with the sauce then put a lid on it and shake them. Pull off the lid then put your face over it and deep inhale the steamy goodness. That’s when you know they are going to be good.

    Awesome Hooters Story at the end.

    Cheers!

    • Thanks Bubby. That’s intense! You’d sauce the wings, let them steam, then put your face over the bowl and inhale? That’s like a shot of pepper spray to the face! I LOVE IT!

      Thanks for watching. Appreciate your comments.

      • Tried these Tuesday night and they came out awesome! I need to work on my battering skills and my oil took a serious nosedive temperature-wise when the wings hit. I might need a bigger pot. Thanks again Phil for putting this out.

  3. With the wifey and kid away I’m making these next weekend. I’ve been grilling my wings like BuBBy and can say you made this seriously easier than any of Alton Browns shows.

    • You’re too kind, Spoon. I’d red eye my ass out to Pittsburgh next weekend if the timing didn’t suck. You KNOW we’d have a great weekend, brother.

      Enjoy your wings and PLEASE let me know how it turns out. Blog it!

  4. Great job Phil! Bubby, add a little liquid smoke to the sauce and you’ve got grill flavor with fried crunch. Another way to do these is Memphis style – no sauce, but sprinkle with Rendezvous rub or your favorite rib rub.

    • Dick, that is awesome. As always, you’ve got an answer for everything. I love this idea. Thank you for your input, and for your on-going support.

  5. “One egg…beaten, just like you when you come home from Hooters…”
    Hahahahahaha! You kill me man!!
    Phil, you are officially my hero. I want to be just like you. Keep doing what you’re doing! When you hear a knock at your door, that will be me. Dude Food ROCKS!!!
    🙂

    steve

    • Steve, YOU ROCK brother. That comment just made my night, dude. That’s so great. Thank you for all of your kind words – always. You make this all worth it. 😉

  6. Don’t sell yourself short. I’m sure your wings “soar” compared to hooters. Get it?

    • OK, now THAT was comedy. Thanks dude. 😉

  7. Hey Phil! Just watched the episode. Loved it!! Now I know how to make them so I don’t have to go to Hooters for my wings. Huge relief if you know what I mean. Kidding, of course. Great, fun, funny episode and I learned stuff too. Looking forward to the next one!

  8. Hi! Great video! Have to try it this way, once tried and mine came out like …

    Btw people take chicken seriously, thought you would enjoy this… “Woman starts fight over chicken nuggets” http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-10922428 😀

    • Thanks Kaupo — that’s intense. I’m telling you, those Chicken McNuggets must be laced with crack, because people go nuts for them. Speaking of crack . . .


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

